top of page
Featured Posts

Relax...


The road season has ended. After 45 races and many training hours it was time for rest, go out to diner with my wife, a social life, playing the piano, eating chocolate and drinking wine. It is also nice to have more time for my students/work. Not really more time, but more balanced time. Instead of racing to my bike after a day full of lessons, go training, eat diner and after diner answer my e-mails, prepare lessons and do corrections in the late evening, I can now teach and do all the work direct after my lessons. By the time I come home the work is done... well teacher work is never done, but it is nice that I don't have to plan every minute of the day and can work a bit more relaxed.


As you might have noticed, my website has been under construction. After the race in Ireland I decided that I wanted to have the website both in Dutch as in English. I want to write my blogs in both languages as well, but for technical reasons I cannot have a separate Dutch and English blog at my webpage. For now this blog will be in English, coming blogs... well I will figure that out.


The last race of the season was in Belgium with two teammates and Harrie. I was a bit tired of the season, both physical as mental, however, I did the best I could and it was a really nice day to close the season. Nice weather, in the end good racing legs and I went in a two-girl break-a-way with my teammate Alicja. Although we got back by the peloton, it was fun to be away together.

I have being on the road with Harrie so often this season, it was nice to have him around this day as well. Why? It was not only my last race of the season, it was also my last race for WV Breda. I have had a really good three years in this team with girls that learned me how to race, making fun with, Chris and Ingrid managing the team and taking good care of us and not forget Harrie, Jeroen and our other soigneurs during races. I want to thank you all for these nice years.


And then my social life... I finally had time to spend with Esther. We went for diner, sauna and justing sitting on the couch. I helped a friend moving into her new house, made diner for friends and had time to go to my hairdresser. I felt a bit strange the first days, but I really enjoyed my after season relax period. I missed my bike within a week, but that is also a good sign.


What to do next? I will write that down in a later blog. Don't worry, I do have new goals for 2018.

For now, just two days of work and than in a plain to Mallorca. After 2,5 weeks of rest, I can start training again... oh no, not training... I am on Holiday :-).... .....of course with a bike, so yes I will cycle next week. But training? No, not training, just biking, enjoy the surroundings, make coffee stops and relax.



Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page