top of page
Featured Posts

Time for an update and the May contest

So, everything really comes together at the moment. Ideas that were in my mind for some months, are now open to you all. A friend of mine had the best description of how this is for me: "Really nice things going on, must give you energy (but I will probably also cost a lot of energy to arrange everything)". Let's talk about it in more detail.


Clover tour and my own #nah🍀awb

So, I introduced my clover tour about a month ago. I got a lot of positive responses, even though it will takes some months before it is September. But keep 10 till 13 September free, at least a part of those days.

The first clovers has been tested and I can tell you, it is really nice to run or cycle a clover. Even if you move over paths you already know, it has something special. To give you a hint: do not put the middle of your clover on top of a hill, it makes you run very hilly ;-). Unless you want some extra challenge of course.

Richard is developing cycling clover all over The Netherlands. We will put them online with some descriptions about the tour. For example, the clover around Amersfoort ends at an ice cream shop, also with vegan options.

I also "delevoped" my own #nah🍀awb. It would be really nice if you use it posting at instagram when you are working on getting fit for the clover tour, of if you see a clover in nature.


May Contest

To help you using the #nah🍀awb more, I decided to open a contest every month. Price: a pair of Sockeloen socks (design still secret, also for me, since we are still in the process of designing them).

For May, the assignment is to spot a clover in Nature, or grow one at your home, like I am doing at the moment. Make a nice picture or gif about it (don't steal anything from the internet) and post it online on Instagram with #nah🍀awb, or send it to me via Facebook messenger, email or whatsapp. By the first of June the winner will be chosen. Jury: just me hahaha.



The people following me on Facebook/Instagram already saw the news about my new bike. Partly sponsored by Trek/Bontrager and arranged by Eugen, I am now the very proud owner of this shiny Trek Speed Concept. I am still a bit flabbergasted that it is really mine and that I can ride my time trails on this super fancy bike. I can imagine not everybody will be fan of the colour, but I like it. And for Esther I will be easier to spot during a race.



Medical update

I also want to spend just a short part of the update about the medical part. If I compare April 2020 and 2021 the most important difference is that I am more happy at the moment. The brain situation is about the same, things that are going easier is mostly due to better or smarter handling of situations. I still make mistakes about the amount of energy I have. Often, because I am too enthusiastic about things, also at work at the Bikeshop. But my body tells me when I do that and I have learned to listen a bit better to it. So, I still fail sometimes, but overall I am doing better.

I can also say that I really have accepted the situation. Because some people find this strange, again I feel obliged to say: if I could chose, I would go back to a life as fulltime teacher and elite athlete, but the way things are going at the moment, I am happy. I can still live on my own, I really like my job at the Bikeshop, I have developed skills to cope with the brain damage and Esther and I found a good way of living with the current situation. On of the examples is our planned bike holiday at the tandem.



Coming soon

In the coming blog more about the volunteers that are helping me out, my own clothing and hopefully more information about the socks.



Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page