top of page
Featured Posts

The power of music

My blogs are mostly about my positive mindset and all things I can do. It does not mean that I am positive at all times, that I am never sad or never regret the things I cannot do anymore. But I do feel pretty balanced at the moment, having more good days than bad day. Why this blog? Because I was listening to music lately, and I noticed it could make me happy, but also really sad. It triggers an emotional response. Which one? Depending on the music or the mood of the day.

The music I was listening to piano music I used to be able to play. I had not hear the songs for a while and since I love it, I thought, well, instead of playing myself, just listen to it. Although at first it made me smile, because of the prettiness of the songs, in the end I got sad. Why? Because I am not able to play them myself anymore. Playing the piano was something I really enjoyied. Losing time, no space for an endless (and often useless) reflections of your working day, just creating a beautiful sound. Or that feeling of studying on a hard piece of music and the first time you are able to play it fluently without any major errors, impossible to describe that feeling with words.


The good thing about writing this blog: I have noticed that I am able to listen to music a bit more again. My doctor instructed me to listen to music while cooking. Well... that was not a good plan, because it was either listen to music or cooking, but both... let's say it almost led to calling 112 for a fire alarm. So, I used to listen to it under the shower. Just a couple of minutes, that was fine. While a lot of people are used to listen to music in the car, that is no longer an option for me anymore. Something I hear from others with brain injuries as well. Even if I am not driving myself, it is not an option.

But now... sitting on my balcony, noice canceling headphone on, I can listen to a couple of songs, before going back to silence. And I love it. I started singing in a choir at the age of ±10 years old, playing the piano just before our wedding in 2015 as a big surprise for Esther and I have always listened to music the whole day. Even while studying chemistry exams. So music was always around me.

The power of music... it can make you smile, it can make you sad. If you are sad, chose the music that makes you happy. Or sometimes, just listen to the songs which can make you sad, because someday they can make you smile again. Because I was able to play it, let's try to listen to it with a smile on my face. Maybe not today, but in the future, let's hope and keep on trying.


The music I was talking about in the intro: Sur le Fill from Yann Tiersen and Sergei Rachmaninoff with Six morceaux op 11. 3 Theme Russe (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a0bQVOxlw-I). The latest is a four hand piece I played with Seline, my piano teacher. It was so nice to work on this big project together. You may not like the music, but I think it is worth it to listen to the end and try to enjoy this beautiful piece.












Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page