top of page
Featured Posts

How ballet is introduced in my life

Yes, you read it correctly, Angelique and ballet in one sentence. A combination I would have never thought of. And besides that I really notice a difference, explained in more detail later on, I really enjoy doing it. Furthermore, it calms the brains down, but at the same time let them work, I am always open for new things tot try, this fits perfectly for that.


By the end of August 2020, I got an injury in my right soleus (calf muscle) and started physiotherapy. It got better, it got worse, it stabilized in something I could live with, but still not the way I wanted. Then my physiotherapist got another job and I got a new one. She really changed everything, already by the first time she saw me. How? By really listening to me. Everybody kept on saying it was a running injury, but I did not had any problems with running, just with cycling. She did some small tests and saw a disbalance in my muscles. We started working on it and within 2-3 weeks, things got really better. So, happy me, but to prevent further injury she proposed something special. She said “What about doing ballet exercise to become more balanced and stronger for the whole body?”. First thought… “No way, me? I am 36 and then trying to learn ballet?” Second thought: “Why not, never too old to learn new things and I you believe it is good for my, we go for it.”

Why did she introduced it? She is a former professional dancer, and in her job as physiotherapist she looks at the whole body and makes sure everything is in balance. In the UK there is also a rugby team doing ballet as strength workout, google it for a YouTube movie and it is working for them.


So, the week after, we started with my first ballet lesson. Got in it really open minded, not really know what to expect, but I just loved it from the beginning. Every muscles is at work. The whole body has to become one, otherwise you will not be able to perform well in the exercise. The movements are mostly slow and in control, in the same time my brain has to work as well in this way. No time to think about other things, just being in the moment. It is also a sort of brain rehabilitation. After I stopped playing the piano, this is a nice way to have something of those skills back in training. On good days I combine the movements with ballet music, to get some extra brain training. So after a ballet training I feel tiered in my muscles and brain, but also relaxed in the brain.


Am I good at it? To be honest, I do not really care, but I did add a small movie, to show you some of the things I am doing know.



The physiotherapy has stopped, because the injury is over, but we continue with ballet lessons. A lesson once every 3-4 weeks, and performing the exercises myself 2-3 times a week. With good weather on my balcony, since the balcony railing is almost at the same hight of a ballet barre, if the weather is not so good, I am performing in our living room or kitchen. If I am in doubt doing it correctly, I make a movie and get instant feedback. A good way of working together and I enjoy doing it.


We will continue with this program and having fun learning new skills. I can recommend it :-).



Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page