top of page
Featured Posts

Broken...

Last months have not been easy, more some kind of rollercoaster. It had it ups and it downs and on Instagram I have been posting pictures, but writing something for the website failed a bit. I think it is time for a small update again.


Mallorca

​So last message was after the team meeting in Leipzig. After that I went to Mallorca with Esther and two friends. I will not bother you with all these beautiful stories, but there are some pictures at the end of this blog. Short summary: it was lovely, could do good training sessions and was never so tired at the end of a training camp. I had some great fun with Esther and our friends and did not really want to go back to the Netherlands.


Create your own stage-race

My first races were with Easter. My team came to the Netherlands and we had a good time racing together.

To start my season really tough... Volta Limburg Classic. It such a nice race and I was happy to start there. I could ride good in the peloton with a break in the peloton after 90 km and I found myself back in the second group. For a first race not so bad and I was happy to finish off 57th.

The day after we raced in Oploo. A race that went well quite good last year (5th place, first time in a leading group). This year it was nervous and boring. I ended 26th and counted it in as a good training.

The third day was a criterium in Gerwen. Good racing, legs even got better during these days and I ended up at place 20. I can do better, but as a start for the season, I was happy with these results.

Of course I invited my team over for dinner at my place and that was really nice as well.


Then a three week period without races started. I could not motivate myself for proper training, but the good thing was that I still enjoyed riding on the bike. Just had problems to put myself into this intense training intervals. Luckily I have a dear colleague that is driving on his scooter for me, so I can do speed training sessions. Then you are not alone, you don't have to think, just follow the scooter and these are really good trainings. So Jelmer: thanks a lot!


Time-trail Borssele

I also had really problems with the positioning on my time-trail bike. I could not put any power in it, resulting in velocities of around 37 km/h where I normally ride 39-40 km/h with the same efforts. So just a few days before my first time-trail I had to change saddle, position and so on.. Really doubting if I really would even start the race in Borssele. After a good talk with the trainer, I decided to just go and see where it would end up. I can say now that is was a really good decision. I really felt good during the time-trail and was never so fast before. All the training efforts really made a difference and I did the time-trail with 40,9 km/h over 20 km race. I was never so fast before.

The lessons: 1. keep on training and some day it will pay off; 2. don't forget to enjoy yourself as well and take a step back when needed.




Broken shoulder

On Sunday I had a small race in Germany (Rund in Fisscheln). I came with confidence, because of the good time-trail, but already in the first meters it went wrong. In Germany races often a combined with different groups and this time we had to ride together with men U17. The guy in front of my just crashed after 20 meter (still don't no why) and I had no chance at all, so I crashed as well. The bike was okay, I had some blood on my elbow and my shoulder hurt, but.. bike was ok, so I got on the bike and continued racing. The race was really good, I won the intermediate sprint twice and got 5th place in final sprint. The last rounds were not really good, because the shoulder was hurting more every round and after the finish (when the adrenaline lowers) it was really painful to even the touch the bike. I did a check up with the first aid people and they advised my to see a doctor. Just went home first, tried to sleep and went to the doctor on Monday, because it was really hurting. The doctor sent me for X-ray and conclusion: broken shoulder. Although you already now... it was still some kind of shock. You alway hope that in this case your gut feeling is wrong. I was not allowed to use the arm for a week...

I went to work for two days, but not really successful, so I was sort of sent home again. You always want to at least give a shot and the idea behind was: "It's only a broken shoulder, don't really need that for teaching." but that is not really how it worked.

Now I have holiday for two weeks, so time to recover.


Recovery

You know me a bit, or very well, either case... everybody knows that I have too much energy and sitting still is not really something for me. So what CAN you do with a broken shoulder?

Esther and I had a walk every day. Furthermore I went to the gym. Still can train the legs, just differently then that I am used to and you can ride indoors with one arm. So I could get rid of some of my energy.

The week after the crash I went to see the orthopeed who told me that when you break something, you better do it this way. With only a small negotiation I am allowed race again on May 12th. I was also allowed to start using the arm just easily and within pain margins.

The first rides on the bikes were not easy, because my bodies was still in full recovery mode, but it is getting better each day.

This week of the bike also made my eager again. I was really sad and disappointed that I could not ride. So I think my motivation problem is solved, but I really would not recommend doing it this way.

And thanks for the get well soon cards and flowers. That helped a lot as well.


The coming days I am in Leipzig. I arrived safely yesterday and could pick up the new team bike. Even did a small test tour yesterday evening, because I just couldn't resist.

I will try to do some proper training sessions and will start in the race Saturday. Still don't know if I will be able to finish the race, but it will be nice to be with my team and it feels like a small holiday here in Leipzig. Good to be back again.


Pictures of the last months...







Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page