top of page
Featured Posts

Taking some time off


The last months have not been easy for me. After a very good winter, increase in power output and really getting in to shape at the end of April, things turned up side down after the first crash in Germany. I got back from the broken shoulder, but the first races were actually a bit to early. I looked forward to racing with my German team, the doctor gave the green light, but the body did not really agree with it. Just before IJsseldelta (UCI 1.2 race) I felt really strong again, but unfortunately, I crashed for the second time this season, just after 30 km. My body was again completely bruiced and I needed some time off the bike. Because of my strong time-trial in Borsele, I got selected for the nationals, which is always an honour to ride. I decided to do my best to be in good shape, although I already felt really tired. A good race in Mill, I ended up 2nd after a long breakaway with Femke Geeris, gave me confidence to stick to the plan, but in the days after I did not recover at all. Still went to Germany for a Bundesliga race, but that was not so successful (understatement).


How did the nationals go? For the shape I'm in? I think I did a really good job. Steady race, with the same pace almost the complete 26 km and came in with 40,4 km/h average. A year ago, with the same feeling, I would probable done 38,5-39,0 km/h, so I improved. But I was not really happy, because I know I did so much better in April und could have done so much better without the injury. However, this is life and part of competing at this level. I gave my best and that is all I could and should do.


After the nationals I took time off the bike. I haven't been on the bike for 5 days now and it is still not enough. It scares me that I don't even miss the bike and that even stretching and core-stability feels as too much to do. However, if this is how I feel right now, well perhaps it is time to listen to my body. Some things in my private life cost me energy, my job has been chaotic and busy and all those crashes were not easy for my body.

I will take more time off, just waiting for the feeling of really riding my bike again. I decided to not put a date on it. Let the body decide when it wants to start riding again.


I will come back, but for now it will be silent for a while.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page