top of page
Featured Posts

How is life at this moment?


It has been a while and I think it is time for a short update. I am trying to come back from a severe overtraining-syndrome and I have my ups and downs, but I also see progress compared to November. At work I have the time and opportunity to work on a really exciting project about formative evaluation which perhaps I will be writing about in another blog.


After the diagnosis of exercise-induced asthma, I started with medication, but was still not feeling good. A closer look by the sportmedical docter added the overtraining-syndrome to it and it will take a while before I will be recovered. The positive side is that I can recover completely, but it takes time (about 2 years in total).

So what have I been doing meanwhile? Well, just check my instagram posts I would say. It is all about weekends away with friends, shopping, cooking, relaxing and so on. A bit differently to all the sports pictures of the last years.


The most important things I will write down here...


Bjugn WK Master Speed-skating

No, don’t worry, I did not skate myself. My job was cheering, supporting, cooking, cleaning and driving. Not just for Esther, but also for Evelien, Erol and Johan. We had great fun together and hopefully they will allow me to do the same job again next year.

And I am really proud at my wife, who became 2nd of the world in her age-group. She won the 1500m in one of her best races of the season and it was just so much joy to see her skating so strong.

The photo’s will tell the bigger story. (Text continues after pictures)




Visit Leipzig

In the mean time I did do some sports while working on my recovery. Since I now have the time and no pressure at all, I slowly started running again.

Together with Esther, Annemieke en Peter we went to Leipzig for not only a relaxing weekend, but also to run. Annemieke did great job at the half-marathon and I ran the 10 km. Evelien made a really good raceplan of which the most important message was to enjoy it and try to speed up the last kilometer. I think we can coach each other quit good, so I listened to this plan and started easily and speeded up during the run. I also enjoyed almost every kilometer, only the last one was a bit painful,

In the end I crossed the line in 49min10sec and I am really happy with that at this point of my recovery.



Futher plans...

During the recovery I am enjoying being outside and appreciated it perhaps even more then before. I like to run, cycle (road and MTB) and swim even when it is nothing compared to before. Just doing short easy sessions puts a smile at my face.

Furthermore, I made more time to play the piano and I am making progress there, which of course is really nice to see (or hear :-)). Esther still didn’t gave me a headphone, so I think I am doing a good job here as well. My pianoteacher is also really good and fun to work with, so it gives me much joy.


And important as well... you can earn money if you find me :-) just bring me to my students....



Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page